Multi Cloud

What can you expect in the Cloud?
Cumulus, stratus or cirrus perhaps? Certainly not. Private, public, hybrid and of course multi cloud – that is where our expertise lies. Cloud is not just cloud. Companies have the possibility of adding to or expanding existing cloud architectures. However, what does this mean and how do the types of cloud differ from each other?

Public Cloud - The Simple and Inexpensive Cloud
Everyone knows them, everyone uses them, often even unknowingly: the public cloud. The public cloud describes publicly available software or infrastructure services that comprise a whole range of products and services. The best-known public clouds are Amazon Web Services (AWS), Microsoft Azure Cloud and Google Cloud Platform (GCP). The advantages are obvious. Companies receive cloud services quickly, flexibly and, on top, inexpensively.

Private Cloud - The Individual Cloud
Unlike the public cloud, the private cloud is not publicly accessible. It is operated on a dedicated basis and sometimes hosted internally or externally. The cloud services offered are accessed over an intranet or virtual private network (VPN). Only authorized users can use certain elements of the private cloud, e.g. applications. In this way, the private cloud offers security, control and flexibility. The associated cloud elements can be scaled according to customer-specific requirements, designed specifically and be used efficiently.

Hybrid Cloud - The Combination of Public and Private Cloud
The hybrid cloud is made up of a combination of public and private cloud. This means that public and private services are integrated with each other in a hybrid cloud environment. For example, certain services are run by public providers over the Internet, while data protection-critical applications are operated and processed in the DTS cloud. Such combinations represent particularly sustainable models for cloud use, because they combine the flexibility from the public cloud with the security requirements of the private cloud.

Multi Cloud - The Supreme Discipline
The multi cloud is often confused with the hybrid cloud. However, a major difference exists between the two. With the multi cloud, not only resources from the public and private cloud can be combined with each other, offerings from different cloud service providers can also be used. With the hybrid cloud, two different architectures are used, while the multi-cloud effectively networks and orchestrates the cloud solutions from different providers. The advantages are many. Several services from different service providers can be used in parallel. In addition, the use of these services can be individually adapted. This means that there is less dependency on just one provider and the ability to react to new developments and requirements is faster. The multi cloud guarantees maximum flexibility, availability and data security.

The Challenge
The cloud is a model that allows access to a shared pool of configurable computer resources that can be made available quickly and easily over a network anytime anywhere. However, a very dynamic development can be seen to be taking place within the cloud. "Hybrid, but especially multi, will become increasingly important in the immediate future. However, the effective design and implementation of this cloud brings with it essential requirements:

  • Combination of on-premises with various cloud providers
  • Migration of applications to separate clouds
  • Permanent operation and continuous updates
  • Increasing workloads mixed with different apps and services
  • Optimal separation of data protection-critical and non-critical workflows

The more interfaces and processes there are in the cloud strategy, the more sources of error and attack surfaces emerge. In a nutshell: The level of complexity increases, lack of transparency increases, security risks occur more and more and shadow IT can emerge. Not all companies have the expertise and resources required to avoid this, to implement the "cloud" adequately and to make optimal use of the potential. This is exactly where DTS comes into play!

Contact

Timo Butenkemper
Head of Sales - Cloud

+49 5221 1013-268

timo.butenkemper (at) dts.de

Florian Sieweke
Sales Specialist - Cloud

+49 5221 1013-238

florian.sieweke (at) dts.de

Multi Cloud

Was erwartet Sie in der Cloud?
Cumulus, Stratus oder Cirrus Wolken? Nein. Private, Public, Hybrid und natürlich die Multi Cloud – das ist unsere Expertise. Cloud ist nicht gleich Cloud. Unternehmen haben die Möglichkeit bestehende Cloud Architekturen zu ergänzen oder zu erweitern. Aber was versteht man darunter und wie unterscheiden sich die Arten der Cloud voneinander?

Public Cloud - Die simple & kostengünstige Wolke
Jeder kennt sie, jeder nutzt sie, oft sogar unbewusst: die Public Cloud. Sie beschreibt öffentlich zugängliche Software- oder Infrastrukturdienste, welche eine ganze Reihe von Produkten und Services umfassen. Die bekanntesten Public Clouds sind die Amazon Web Services (AWS), die Microsoft Azure Cloud und die Google Cloud Plattform (GCP). Dabei liegen die Vorteile auf der Hand. Unternehmen werden ohne großen Aufwand schnell, flexibel und obendrein kostengünstig Cloud Dienste zur Verfügung gestellt.

Private Cloud - Die individuelle Wolke
Anders als die Public Cloud ist die Private Cloud nicht öffentlich zugänglich. Sie wird dediziert betrieben und fallweise intern oder extern gehostet. Der Zugriff auf die Cloud Services erfolgt per Intranet oder Virtual Private Network (VPN). Nur autorisierte User können bestimmte Elemente der Private Cloud, z. B. Anwendungen, nutzen. Auf diese Weise bietet sie Sicherheit, Kontrolle und Flexibilität. Die zugehörigen Cloud Elemente können nach kundenindividuellen Anforderungen skalieren, spezifisch gestaltet werden und sind effizient nutzbar.

Hybrid Cloud - Die Kombination aus Public & Private
Die Hybrid Cloud beinhaltet eine Kombination aus Public und Private Cloud. Somit sind öffentliche und private Services in einer hybriden Cloud Umgebung miteinander integriert. Beispielsweise laufen bestimmte Services bei öffentlichen Anbietern über das Internet, während datenschutzkritische Anwendungen in der DTS Cloud betrieben sowie verarbeitet werden. Derartige Kombinationen stellen besonders zukunftsfähige Modelle der Cloud Nutzung dar, da die Flexibilität aus der Public Cloud mit den Sicherheitsansprüchen der Private Cloud verbunden werden.

Multi Cloud - Die Königsdisziplin
Die Multi Cloud wird häufig mit der Hybrid Cloud verwechselt. Es besteht allerdings ein gravierender Unterschied. Bei der Multi Cloud können nicht nur Ressourcen aus der Public und der Private Cloud miteinander kombiniert werden, sondern darüber hinaus Angebote unterschiedlicher Cloud Service Provider genutzt werden. Bei der Hybrid Cloud wird auf zwei verschiedene Architekturen zurückgegriffen, während die Multi Cloud die Cloud Lösungen verschiedener Anbieter effektiv miteinander vernetzt und orchestriert. Die Vorteile sind vielfältig. Mehrere Services von unterschiedlichen Dienstleistern können parallel genutzt werden. Außerdem ist die Nutzung dieser Services individuell anpassbar. Auf diese Weise besteht eine geringere Abhängigkeit von nur einem Anbieter und die Reaktionsfähigkeit in Bezug auf neue Entwicklungen sowie Anforderungen ist schneller. Die Multi Cloud gewährleistet maximale Flexibilität, Verfügbarkeit und Datensicherheit.

Die Herausforderung
Cloud ist ein Modell, welches erlaubt, jederzeit und überall über ein Netz auf einen geteilten Pool von konfigurierbaren Rechnerressourcen zuzugreifen, die schnell und einfach zur Verfügung gestellt werden können. Allerdings findet innerhalb der Cloud eine sehr dynamische Entwicklung statt. „Hybrid“, aber vor allem „Multi“ werden in unmittelbarer Zukunft stark an Bedeutung zunehmen. Die effektive Konzeption und Umsetzung dieser Cloud bringt jedoch wesentliche Anforderungen mit sich:

  • Kombination von On-Premises mit verschiedenen Cloud Anbietern
  • Migration von Anwendungen in separate Clouds
  • Dauerhafter Betrieb und kontinuierliche Updates
  • Zunehmende Workloads vermischt mit verschiedenen Apps & Services
  • Optimale Trennung in datenschutzkritische und -unkritische Workflows

Je mehr Schnittstellen und je mehr Prozesse ein Bestandteil der Cloud Strategie sind, umso mehr Fehlerquellen sowie Angriffsflächen bilden sich heraus. Kurz gesagt: Die Komplexität steigt, die Intransparenz wächst, Sicherheitsrisiken treten vermehrt auf und Schatten-IT kann entstehen. Längst nicht alle Unternehmen verfügen über die Expertise und die nötigen Ressourcen, um dies zu vermeiden und „Cloud“ adäquat zu realisieren sowie die Potentiale optimal zu nutzen. Genau hier kommt die DTS ins Spiel!

Ansprechpartner

Timo Butenkemper
Head of Sales - Datacenter & Multi Cloud

+49 5221 1013-268

timo.butenkemper (at) dts.de

Florian Sieweke
Sales Specialist - Multicloud

+49 5221 1013-238

florian.sieweke (at) dts.de